Post

📕 The Love Hypothesis

Diving into the complexities of academic life and romance, “The Love Hypothesis” unfolds a story that’s as heartwarming as it is insightful.


About the book

   
Author: Ali Hazelwood
Year of release: 2021
Genre: Romance , Contemporary , Fiction , Adult
Pages: 356
Average WPM: 302
Date Started/Finished: 7 to 8 September 2022
Time took: 4.1 Hours

What I Liked About It and What I didn’t

  • What I liked
    • The story was nice and not cliché
  • What I didn’t like
    • Ending didn’t feel that satisfying, felt like it ended quick

How I Discovered It

Wania recommended it to me

Summary + Notes


Prologue

condescending tone was a dead giveaway. All Ph.D. students were like that: thinking they were better than everyone else just because they had the dubious privilege of slaughtering fruit flies in the name of science for ninety cents an hour.

In the grim, dark hellscape of academia, graduate students were the lowliest of creatures and therefore had to convince themselves that they were the best. Olive was no clinical psychologist, but it seemed like a pretty textbook defense mechanism.

Chapter One

HYPOTHESIS: When given a choice between A (a slightly inconveniencing situation) and B (a colossal shitshow with devastating consequences), I will inevitably end up selecting B.

Chapter Two

HYPOTHESIS: Any rumor regarding my love life will spread with a speed that is directly proportional to my desire to keep said rumor a secret.

Okay. That made sense. But. “Have you considered getting a real girlfriend?” His eyebrow lifted. “Have you considered getting a real date?” “Touché.”

Chapter Three

I think that’s pretty standard protocol, before embarking on a fake-dating relationship.” He tilted his head. “Standard protocol?” “Yup.” “How many times have you done this?” “Zero. But I am familiar with the trope.” “The . . . what?” He blinked at her, confused.

Chapter Twelve

HYPOTHESIS: If I am bad at doing activity A, my chances of being asked to engage in activity A will rise exponentially.

“Olive,” Dr. Aslan interrupted her with a stern tone. “What do I always tell you?” “Um . . . ‘Don’t misplace the multichannel pipette’?” “The other thing.” She sighed. “ ‘Carry yourself with the confidence of a mediocre white man.’

Chapter Fourteen

I had a vision of your future in academia.” Olive wrapped her arms around Anh. “What vision?” “You were a high-powered researcher, surrounded by students who hung on your every word. And you were answering a multiparagraph email with an uncapitalized no.” “Nice. Was I happy?” “Of course not.” Anh snorted. “It’s academia.”

This post is licensed under CC BY 4.0 by the author.